Vegan Quinoa Nori Roll

IMG_6985
IMG_6992

In a complete 180° turn from my most recent post, and in an attempt to pretend like I didn’t have a third “malformed” cookie from the batch I made earlier, here is a little vegan, gluten free recipe from that week I tried (valiantly, yet unsuccessfully) to detox for 7 days straight. 

IMG_7002

IMG_7006

This nori roll is seriously nice though, vegan or not. If you’re a fan of the salty/crunch/sweet combo delight of sushi then this will definitely appeal to you. It’s endlessly adaptable as well, I had to use up one of the quinoa salads I’d made during my detox but plain cooked and cooled quinoa will easily do the trick.

And probably work better if I’m being honest. Although the kidney beans, tomatoes and red peppers in my original salad did have nice flavour, and the beans certainly made the wrap more filling, the base was a little bit too wet resulting in a thinner, more delicate roll (the reason why I struggled to get nice, clean cuts).

IMG_7020 IMG_7019

Nori sheets are also something I make sure to always have on hand, I probably have some kind of nori wrap at least once a week while at uni, as they are so easy and transportable. If you’re not a strict vegan then cucumber, tinned tuna, and avocado with a bit of sweet chilli sauce is a killer combination!

IMG_7012

Easy Vegan Nori Rolls (serves 1)

1 nori sheet
1/3 to 1/2 a cup cooked quinoa
1 tbsp light soy sauce
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
2 tsp rice wine vinegar
1 small carrot sliced into strips
1/2 an avocado sliced
1 spring onion sliced
sesame seeds

optional add ins: tomatoes, red bell peppers, kidney beans, edamame beans, cooked trips of tofu (sautéed in a bit of ginger, garlic and soy) – go wild here, world is your oyster, the more you get in there the more crunch/taste/awesome factor is added to your roll ;)!

1. In a small bowl mix your cooked quinoa with the soy sauce, sesame oil and rice wine vinegar (the amounts I’ve given are rough estimations as I eyeballed everything, tasting it to make sure it was a balance I liked) – do make sure you’re not adding too much sauce that it turns your quinoa mushy!

2. Lay a piece of cling film onto a sushi rolling mat and lay a nori sheet on top of that. Leaving about an inch of space at the bottom of your sheet evenly arrange your quinoa in a line. Now arrange all of your chosen fillings as close to that line (overlapping is okay, encouraged even) as possible.

3. Now the tricky bit – rolling. I suck at this (as you can probably tell from the photos) so won’t bore you with a poorly written explanation, as there are loads of videos on youtube that can do the job better than I! Once rolled and wrapped in cling film I would definitely recommend letting your rolls firm up in the fridge for 15 minutes or so before slicing – also using a slightly damp knife makes cutting through the seaweed a little easier!

*Although I chose not to you can obviously serve these with soy sauce/wasabi/picked ginger… though if you were going to dip them into soy sauce I would probably leave out the soy from the quinoa filling (maybe up the rice wine vinegar a tad, and add bit of agave syrup to mimic the typical sweet flavour of sushi rice).

4 thoughts on “Vegan Quinoa Nori Roll

    • Considering my next two posts are linzer cookies and chocolate coconut macaroons, more diversity is definitely on the way 😛

      Well if you like sushi I would recommend it – though this is perhaps not the easiest way to introduce yourself to quinoa! I did adapt Jamie Oliver’s kedgeree recipe with quinoa and smoked salmon which doesn’t taste like ‘health’ food in the slightest 🙂

Leave a Reply

