Smoked Salmon and Poached Egg Breakfast Sandwich

IMG_7062

This is barely a recipe post if I’m being honest, as nothing is weighed or cooked (aside from the poached egg… though I’d hardly constitute cracking an egg into water as ‘cooking’).

Either way this is one of my go to easy breakfast choices when I’m treating myself – its really just a healthy derivative of an Eggs Royale. Now I love any variation of an Eggs Benedict, it’s my ultimate morning indulgence (usually alongside a massive glass of orange juice and a roaring hangover), but I certainly can’t justify all that hollandaise on a regular basis! Anyway, the argument could be made that it’s altogether unnecessary when you’ve got a beautiful runny yolk providing a sauce for you (though that’s not an argument I tend to find all too convincing when a pot of hollandaise is plopped down next to me).

IMG_7057
IMG_7059
IMG_7064

Smoked Salmon and Poached Egg Breakfast Sandwich:
1 Warbuton’s gluten free sandwich thin (though if you’re not watching your gluten and/or calorie intake a slice of any kind of bread would work perfectly!)
3-4 Cherry tomatoes quartered
a slice of Smoked Salmon
Balsamic glaze
Cilantro
1 egg

1. Start by toasting your bread of choice, then put the quartered cherry tomatoes in a bowl with some chopped cilantro, salt, pepper and a drizzle of balsamic glaze. Mix together and let the flavours marinade a bit while you poach your egg.

2. Poaching eggs can always be a bit tricky and there are numerous ways of “safe guarding” yourself – adding a bit of vinegar is sometimes suggested to help the egg whites firm up around the yolk (by all means go ahead if you have some distilled white vinegar on hand, unfortunately I never seem to). My method is to use a large pot and fill it with just enough water that it’ll cover the egg – wide and shallow is the goal, leaving lots of room for egg white swirling action. Bring your water up to a gentle simmer, swirl the water with a spoon and crack the egg straight in (that last step is mostly laziness, I would recommend cracking your egg into a small ramekin or mug before hand, but tend not to cause I don’t want to wash anything else up).

3. Leave your egg to poach for 1-2 minutes and then fish it out using a slotted spoon, placing it on some paper towels to drain off the excess water.

4. Now, place your bread on a plate, scoop the balsamic tomatoes in the centre, pile on your smoked salmon and top it all off with the poached egg. Salt & pepper to taste and voila! A delicious, and very easy, breakfast (or lunch or snack – do what you will, live on the edge).

4 thoughts on “Smoked Salmon and Poached Egg Breakfast Sandwich

  1. Ha, I’d sure count this as cooking if I made something that looked that appetizing–even if I did only crack an egg.

    Something different for breakfast. Thanks for the suggestions.

Leave a Reply

